green spring soup from wild herbs

I remember myself as a little girl being on my mothers side whenever she was in the garden caring about our flowers, fruits, vegetables and herbs all year long. I got a lot to know about plants and their names, saw how to grow and water them. Even in the age when I cared most about my friends and tried to not spend a lot of time at home I still came back into our garden. More then 10 years ago I joined my mum for a course about wild herbs. Though my mum forgot about where to find these green goodnesses I always rememberd. As soon as I was allowed to drive by myself I got back to find the herbs every year in  the time around easter.

wild herbs soup

If you are keen on getting to know what wild herbs look like in middle europe you can check out the following pictures or just move on to the recipe underneath, where you can replace the amounts of wild herbs with any other herbs you can buy at the supermarket. Have fun!


chervil

Chervil


milfoil

Milfoil


dandelion

Dandelion (I prefer the right one with the soft round silhouette which seems to be less bitter to me)


sour dock

Sour dock


honeysuckle

Honeysuckle


strawberry leaves

Strawberry leaves


ribwort

Ribwort


wild garlic

Wild garlic


water cress

Water cress


Ingredients for 4 persons

a handful of these herbs: chervil, milfoil, dandelion, sour dock, honeysuckle, strawberry leaves, ribwort, wild garlic and nettle

5 branches of water cress

1 shallot

2 gloves of garlic

3 tablespoons flour

2 tablespoons ghee

1,2 liter hot vegetable stock

150 ml cream

2 tablespoons creme fraiche

salt pepper


If you have a really strong blender you will be okay with just washing your herbs. If not make sure you also chop all your herbs finely.

Chop the shallot and the garlic and roast them for 3 minutes in a pot with the ghee. Then add the flour and stir really well until it browns slightly. Then stir in the vegetable stock until the liquid seems to be homogen. Add the half of your herbs and cook on low heat for 10 minutes. Then mix up (I prefer a blender) the soup with the rest of the herbs, cream and creme fraiche. Pour all back in the pot to heat it one more time and salt & pepper all.

Serve your soup with croutons and fresh garden cress.

Leave a Reply

